65.3 F
Friday, June 9, 2023

About PGN

The largest and oldest publication targeting the LGBTQ+ community, started in 1976.

Dignity. Integrity. Professionalism.

Founded by Publisher Mark Segal in 1976, Philadelphia Gay News has been a part of Philadelphia's thriving LGBTQ+ community for decades. When no other media outlet was covering the AIDS crisis, PGN did. When many of our community members were closeted for fear of safety, PGN was a visible and reliable source of news. As a community newspaper, PGN’s mission is to be a platform for the LGBTQ+ community to communicate with each other on various viewpoints, as well as to communicate with the mainstream community. PGN reaches out to, builds rapport with and listens to its readers and supporters — and critics. We strive to make the LGBTQ+ community more informed about resources in the community and to educate the non-gay community on who we are. Like any group, the LGBT community needs a communications tool to keep abreast of areas of concern, such as health issues and legislation, and to celebrate our successes.

Michele Zipkin

Staff Reporter

Michele received her BA from Goucher College and her MA in journalism from Temple University. She has been on staff with PGN since January 2020 and previously worked as a freelancer.

Ash Cheshire

Editorial Designer / Illustrator

Ash graduated from Shepherd University with their BFA in painting and drawing. They have been with PGN since August 2019. Check out their features Church of Dyke and Persona.

Sean Dorn

Web Designer

Sean studied art history at the University of California, Santa Cruz. He plays upright bass for the River Bones Band and the West Philly Foot Tappers. He has been with PGN since 2005.

Kelly Burkhardt


Kelly studied at Penn State, and she is a victim/witness coordinator at the Philadelphia District Attorneys Office. She has been with PGN since May 2019.

Jason Villemez


Jason's writing has appeared in the PBS NewsHour, LGBTQ Nation, and local LGBTQ publications across the country. He writes frequently on LGBTQ history.

News Contributors

Victoria Brownworth
Timothy Cwiek
Victoria Ebner
Sebastian Fortino



Jen Colletta
Dana Rudolph
Suzi Nash
David Griffith
Inez Carvalho
Jeremy Gussick

Arts Contributors

Gary Kramer
Cameron Kelsall
Ray Simon
Gary Day
Gregg Shapiro